Ubisoft is closing “inactive” Ubisoft accounts, resulting in affected users losing access to purchased games.
A Twitter user reported that he received an email from Ubisoft warning that the account could be suspended and games lost if he did not click on a certain link within a certain period of time.
What can you do
In response on Twitter, Ubisoft’s support team suggested that users can prevent account suspension by logging in and clicking on the link provided within 30 days.
The company explained that the account suspension came in response to local privacy laws and would affect inactive accounts that have no current activity. However, Ubisoft has confirmed that accounts with purchases will be kept for at least four years, though some users claim that a recent email refutes that statement.
This incident brings renewed attention to issues related to digital rights management and digital games. If, for example, Ubisoft takes a digital game out of sale, deleting the account later could prevent the title in question from being retained.
“Subtly charming coffee scholar. General zombie junkie. Introvert. Alcohol nerd. Travel lover. Twitter specialist. Freelance student.”