Broadway

Complete News World

The update for iPhone and iPad should fix the scary photo bugs

The update for iPhone and iPad should fix the scary photo bugs

Photos deleted years ago have come to light again for some iPhone and iPad users running iOS 17.5. A quick update should fix this issue again.

Article written by

What's gone must stay gone? With the release of iOS 17.5.1 and iPadOS 17.5.1, this should now also apply to photos on iPhone and iPad.

where is the problem?

The update has a loud sound apple “Important bug fixes” and should, among other things, prevent “photos with corrupt data from reappearing in the Photos library even though they have already been deleted.” After installing iOS 17.5, many users reported the reappearance of deleted photos.

This phenomenon is not entirely inconclusive: long-deleted photos sometimes appear as new in the device's media library. In some cases, this also includes somewhat salacious photos or intentionally deleted memories, as has been complained about online. It also remains unclear: does the update just prevent these non-dead images from being displayed or are the images after installation actually and permanently deleted?

Quarantine deletion instead of immediate removal

Basically, when photos on Apple devices are deleted, they are not actually deleted at first, but are first moved to an album called Recently Deleted. They'll stay here for 30 days – just in case you change your mind. If you don't want to wait that long, you can delete the album in the Photos app manually.

Anyone who has Automatic Updates activated will automatically be offered to install iOS or iPadOS 17.5.1. All other users with existing Apple devices go to Settings under General/Software Update to update and start the installation there manually.

False excitement about a device that is supposedly sold

US tech blog MacRumors also reported on a Reddit user's claim that iOS 17.5 will allow photos to reappear on devices that have been deleted and resold (or given away).

This unusual claim doesn't match up with an understanding of how “wiping” an iPhone or iPad works, as Apple tech blogger John Gruber pointed out.

“All storage on iOS devices is encrypted, and if you erase the device (Settings → General → Transfer or Reset iPhone/iPad → Erase All Contents and Settings), the encryption key will be destroyed. The system does not and is not required to replace memory with zeros or random bits. It simply destroys the encryption key from the Secure Enclave so that data already written to the volume cannot be restored.”

Source: daringfireball.net

MacRumors' report was based on a single Reddit post that has since been deleted. So everything points to a false alarm.

sources

(T-Online/DSC)

How to enable iCloud Advanced Encryption

1/17

How to enable iCloud Advanced Encryption

What is the most valuable thing you have on your Apple device? Are they photos, chat messages, voice memos, notes, or other files? And so on to the most important question..

Source: Apple

Post it on FacebookShare on X

A stunning flash of light lit up Portugal on the Pentecost holiday

Video: Watson

You may also be interested in: