Complete News World

Seppänen stormed to his first pole position at Zandvoort

Seppänen stormed to his first pole position at Zandvoort

( – With a time of 1:33.096 minutes, Finn Elias Sippänen (Landgraf Motorsport) celebrated his first ADAC GT Masters pole position in qualifying on Saturday at the Zandvoort circuit. “I am very proud of this success. It means a lot to me and makes me feel good.”

Elias Sipanen celebrates his first career poles

“In the race, we want to take advantage of the great starting position and secure our second win of the season,” said the happy pole-sitter. In the race, the Scandinavian shares the Mercedes-AMG GT3 with teammate Tom Calendar (Hamm/Sieg), who hands him the wheel mid-race.

David Schumacher's Mercedes-AMG GT3 from the Haupt Racing team came in second place, just 0.024 seconds behind first place. The 22-year-old is aiming for success with Salman Oweja (Cologne).

Benjamin Hitz (CH) and Tim Zimmermann (Langenhain) finished qualifying third in a Grasser Lamborghini ahead of another Mercedes-AMG driven by Janis Wietje (Langenhain) and Finn Wiebelhaus (Obertshausen/both Haupt Racing Teams). Swiss Ferrari duo Alain Valiente and Jean-Luc Doria of Emile Frey Racing completed the top five.

The first qualifying session on the 4.259-kilometre route began early Saturday morning with an outside temperature of 14 degrees Celsius. In the first half, Bulcher Giuliano Holzem set the first fast lap in his Audi R8 LMS GT3 from Land-Motorsport. As the race progressed, several drivers took turns at the top of the timesheets, creating exciting moments.

Shortly before the end of the session, Sipanen set the best lap time, which was just 0.053 seconds slower than the previous qualifying record set by Ricardo Feller (CHE) from 2021.

From 3:15 p.m., the players will participate in Saturday's race on the Dutch North Sea coast. Fans staying at home can experience all the action on TV partner Sport1, which is broadcasting the entire third round of the season live on German free-to-air television. The race is also being broadcast on YouTube as a free live stream on the ADAC Motorsport channel