Complete News World

Second place for our travel editors

Susanne Hamann, Bettina Bernhard, and Annette Schwezig are thrilled to take second place in the “Travel Editor of the Year 2023” vote. Photo: Lichtgut/Leif Piechowski

Our newspaper’s travel section won silver in a vote for Travel Editor of the Year from Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

Share this article

Our newspaper has landed itself on the podium for the fourth time in a row in voting for “Travel Editor of the Year”: the travel team of Susanne Hamann, Bettina Bernard and Annette Schwesig finished second in 2023 with 132 points. The title went to “Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung” (135 points), followed by “Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung” (124 points) before “Süddeutsche Zeitung” (122 points). Other national media such as “Welt am Sonntag” (83 points / sixth place) or “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” (73 points / ninth place) were among those placed.

Crucial: quality, fit, and confidence

In the Touristik PR ranking, the jury pre-selects from more than 680 tourist media outlets in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Journalists and PR experts vote on these 50 editorial offices in the final round. The choice is not just about text and layout quality, but also about relevance, independence, and trustworthiness. The award ceremony took place in Berlin at the ITB travel fair. All results can be found here.

Congratulations also to the self-employed

From our point of view, the result of the Travel Journalist of the Year vote, which only freelance colleagues are accepted, is also satisfactory. The three first place winners have been written by our travel editorial team for many years: Won Hat Stephanie Bisping before Helge Sobeck And Franz Neumayrwho was also able to win the blogger’s rating.