Complete News World

More than 50 players in Beijing - National League "export blow" to Olympia - Sports

More than 50 players in Beijing – National League “export blow” to Olympia – Sports

More than 50 players in Beijing – the National League as an “export hit” in the Olympics – Sports – SRF

Skip to content


The Swiss league has the second largest team in the men’s ice hockey tournament in Beijing after the KHL.


Are they all in the Olympics?

Gregory Hoffmann, Dario Simeon, Jan Kovar and Karl Klingberg of EV Zug (from left).

Fresh Fox

In addition to the 25 players of the Swiss national team, another 29 players were called up from the National Olympic Ice Hockey League. With 120 players, only Russia’s KHL has more staff for the Beijing Winter Games.

Sweden currently has 7 players from the National League, including Servet defender Henrik Tomerens, number 2 on the scorers list.

Only 3 countries without players from the National League

The leader in this arrangement, Roman Cervenka of the Raberswil-Jona Lakers, will also be there in Beijing – in the Czech national team. The 36-year-old has amassed 16 goals and 39 assists in 42 matches in the tournament. Only the hosts China, the Russian national team and the USA without National League players.

Sweden (7): Daniel Prudden (Friborg-Gutieron), Matthias Bromme (Davos), Emile Djos (Rapperswill-Jonah Lakers), Karl Klingberg (Zug), Marcus Krueger (Zog Lions), Anton Lander (Zug), Henrik Tomerens (Geneva Servet).
Finland (5): Valtteri Filppula (Genève-Servette), Juuso Hietanen (Ambri-Piotta), Toni Rajala (Biel), Harri Pesonen (SCL Tigers), and Sami Vatanen (Genève-Servette).
Canada (4): Daniel Carr (Lugano), David Descharnat (Fribourg-Gutteron), Maxime Noro (ZSC Black), Daniel Winnick (Geneva Servet).
Latvia (4): Casparis Daugavins (Bern), Ronald Kennes (Lausanne), Ivars Boninov (SCL Tigers), Denis Smirnov (Geneva Servet).
Czech Republic (4): Roman Cervenka (Rapperswil-Jona Lakers), Michael Frolik (Lausanne), Jan Kovar (Zug), Matej Stransky (Davos).
Denmark (2): Mikel Bodker (Lugano), Peter Regen (Ambry-Biotta).
Slovakia (2): Martin Gernat (Lausanne) and Christian Pospisil (Davos).
Germany (1): Dominic Cahon (Bern).

I just go without Olympic participants

Most players should release Master Train. EVZ will feature 8 athletes at the Olympics. This is followed by the ZSC Lions (7) and Servette (6). Only the bottom light Ajoie player is not called.

Zug (8): Leonardo Genoni, Fabrice Herzog, Gregory Hoffmann, Sven Senteler, Dario Simeone, Klingberg, Lander, Kovar.
ZSC Lions (7): Christian Marti, Yannick Weber, Sven Andregueto, Dennis Hollenstein, Dennis Malgin, Krueger, Nuru.
Serft (6): Joel Fermin, Tomerence, Vatanen, Vilpola, Winnick, Smirnoff.
Friborg (5): Rito Pera, Rafael Diaz, Kilian Mutit, Bruden, Descharnat.
Lugano (5): Santeri Alatalo, Roman Lovell, Mirko Muller, Carr, Boedeker.
Davos (5): Andres Ambul, Enzo Corvi, Bromi, Stransky, Pospisil.
Bern (4): Ramon Untersander, Simon Mosser, Cahon, Daugavins.
Lausanne (4): Christophe Bercchi, Frolik, Grenat, Kennes.
Embry (3): Michael Vora, Heitanen, Regen.
Biel (3): Joren van Putelberge, Gaetan Haas, Rajala.
Rapperswill-Jonah Lakers (2): Djos, Cervinka.
Scl Tigers (2): Besonin, Buninov.

Most Read Articles

Scroll left

Scroll right