Complete News World

Emma Hinze bei der Bahnrad-WM 2021 in Roubaix (imago images/Arne Mill)

Female Athlete of the Year elected: Brandenburg athlete Emma Haines took 9th place

MotoGP racer Emma Haines (24), who started with RSC Cottbus and Team Track Brandenburg, finished ninth in the German Sportswoman of the Year election. The elections were held by the votes of 980 sports journalists and have been held since 1947. Last year, Haines was still in third place. On the other hand, the silver medalist at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics was able to defend the title of “Brandenburg Athlete of the Year”.

Malaika Mihambo (27), long jumper, won the title of “Athlete of the Year”. In the men’s category, Alexander Zverev (24) won. The team decision was won by a four-man cycling team led by Franziska Brause (23), Lisa Brenor (33), Mick Krueger (28) and Lisa Klein (25). All winners won a gold medal at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics.

Mihambo won the vote for “Sportsman of the Year” for the third time in a row. Zverev was named the first men’s tennis player since Wimbledon winner Michael Stitch 30 years ago and succeeded ice hockey forward Leon Drysitl. Women in four-wheel drive to succeed Bayern Munich.

Broadcast: Inforadio, December 19, 2021, 11:15 p.m.